In a vast space, in the heart of Cébazat’s town centre, Pierre-Montgroux park features two gardens with different inspirations.

Located in the former Domaine de Massaud, Parc Pierre-Montgroux has two gardens with different inspiration, measuring 6.7 hectares in the centre of the town. The gardens showcase a reach of the river Bédat which crosses them.

The first part of the park belonged in the 17th century to Victor Bon de Broé, adviser to the King. Various owners took over this property until 1834, when it returned to the De Chamerlat family, who kept it until 1950. This family gave the property its current appearance: expansive lawns, hundred-year-old trees and picturesque features (mill with its water wheel rebuilt identically by students from the Roger-Claustres vocational high school in Clermont-Ferrand, reach, orangery and rockery). The estate is surrounded by a remarkable cast iron fence dating back to the 19th century. This first space resembles the model of English-style parks. In 1980, under the mandate of Pierre Montgroux, the municipality purchased the property, restored it and developed the park to open to the public in 1982.

The other part of the park is a natural protected space structured around a pond of 6,230 m2 in the spirit of the zen garden with water-level walkways, stepping stones and observation kiosks. The vegetation is characteristic of humid regions: giant bamboos, water lilies, reeds, rushes, alder trees and willow trees. Various animal species can be seen there: ducks, geese, Canada geese, swans, warblers (black-headed, Eurasian reed warbler), frogs and toads...

Opening dates and times

All year round, daily.

Services and equipment

Services : Pets welcome
Equipment : Play area, Parking nearby


  • Free entry.